Our Office

Cross Free Church follows the New Testament model and is structured with only two kinds of officer: Elders and Deacons. The higher office is that of the Elder and, because the church is ruled by Elders, it belongs to the family of churches known as ‘presbyterian’ – a term derived from the Greek word for ‘Elder’.

Elders are a group elected by each congregation to oversee their spiritual welfare.  The group includes one ruling Elder called the Minister, who is specially trained and set apart to teach.  As a formal body, Elders are known as the Kirk Session.  In the Presbyterian system, every Session is represented in a superior court called the Presbytery which consists of a number of congregations within a geographical boundary.  Each Presbytery is represented in the highest Free Church court, the General Assembly.

Deacons are individuals elected to take care of the material and financial concerns of the congregation and, as a formal body, they are referred to as the Deacons’ Court.


Building Committee: We have a committee with building knowledge and experience who meet to discuss any ongoing or potential building works in the Church.

Communications Committee: We also have a committee which deal with tasks such as the recording ministry, social media, outreach, publications and the weekly bulletin.

Minister: Rev Ewen Matheson
Free Church Manse
Isle of Lewis
01851 811193
Clerk to Deacons’ Court
Mr Angus Murray
31 Lionel
Isle of Lewis
01851 810322
Mr Donald A. Morrison
60A Cross Skigersta Road
Isle of Lewis
01851 810410